Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Warwick Thumb NT + Ampeg SVT-4 Pro EQ settings to get Warwick Growl

Discussion in 'Bass Guitars' started by reebis, Jul 2, 2014.

1. reebis

reebis

Hello Everyone,

I have a Warwick Thumb NT with an Ampeg SVT-4 Pro and 4x10 Ampeg HLF cabinet. I need help with getting the classic Warwick growl we all know and love.

Please help with the correct EQ settings on my Warwick as well as the 9-band EQ settings on the Ampeg. Not only is there a graphic EQ on the Ampeg but several other settings as well. I am not good at these technologies and EQing so any help is GREATLY appreciated. I just can't get the tone I'm looking for.

Thanks in advance!

Reebis

2. bassinurface

bassinurface

I would recommend keeping your amp as flat as possible, cut more than add. Set your basses eq for the sound that your looking for. You should get the real sound of the bass uncolored.

3. reebis

reebis

I will give it a try but if I do that I will lose out on a lot of headroom from my Ampeg. I will bypass the EQ and are you suggesting keeping my pots on my Ampeg flat as well?

As for the bass EQ -- crank up the mids higher than the lows with slight treble?

4. theBassPark

theBassPark

Thumb's growl is always there no matter how you set EQs.

With the onboard EQ usually I boost the bass about 50% and boost the treble a little.
    I use the amp settings only to make the bass sound cut thru the mix better without messing up the overall balance with other instruments.

5. reebis

reebis

Side note -- beautiful basses guys.

So you leave the mids flat? What range of the pickup pot do set it to? That's also another problem -- while playing with guitarists if you don't have a good balance especially with the mids I don't cut through the mix. I just can't get the meaty hum I want. I really don't know what I'm doing wrong. It's driving me insane.

6. DemBoneZ

DemBoneZ