Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Warwick RB Fortress detached wire.

Discussion in 'Non - Official Warwick Customer Support' started by EPurpl3, Aug 12, 2011.

  1. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    i was looking at the electronics of my new RB Fortress 4 and i have found a wire that goes somewhere at the bridge but in the other side is disconnected. It looks like it was stuck somewhere but i dont know where. I have looked at the Fortress diagram but i was unable to find that wire on the drawing. Does any of you know anything about that wire? It is safe to let it just shake in there? I have uploaded some photos.

    Thanks,

    Alex


    _ALX4363.JPG _ALX4362.JPG _ALX4364.JPG
     
  2. schlobodan

    schlobodan Warwick Streamer Specialist Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,688
    Likes Received:
    472
    Trophy Points:
    83
    simply copnnect it to ground
     
  3. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, i dont understnad, what do u mean by that?
     
  4. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    Trophy Points:
    114
    You need to solder it to a pot, to the metal cover. That's the ground.
     
  5. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So i have to stick it to any metal? the volume potentiometer metal cover is ok? whats the purpose of that wire?

    Thanks
     
  6. Augie

    Augie The Desert Bass-ape

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,229
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I know exactly what you mean but i can totally see how would look to someone without much experience in guitar wiring. Some poor bugger trying to trail wire form his bass to the floor. :)
     
  7. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Yes, it is OK,

    The purpose is to connect the strings to the ground. So when you touch the strings (like... when you play) the noise goes away :).
     
  8. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, now that i know that i was able to find where the wire was soldered. On the right side of the balance potentiometer. It`s kind of strange that the ground wire is not on the diagram.

    I am not a poor bugger but i was definitely thinking that i have to pierce my guitar to stick that wire into the ground. :)
     
  9. Alexandre

    Alexandre Production Manager Assistant

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Markneukirchen
    Or leave it as it is, as you have active pickups, grounding the bridge is not necessary.
     
  10. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, i have sticked it to the volume potentiometer, i have found the place where that wire was solder. I dont hear any diference.
     
  11. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    Trophy Points:
    114
    The Active pickups are quieter, but they are not noise free. Nothing is actually, only if you shut the amp down. In difficult situation, like interferences from lights, or in pro situations like in studio, that little wire does make a difference.
     
  12. Alexandre

    Alexandre Production Manager Assistant

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Markneukirchen
    It has to do with the way active pickups are built, and grounding the bridge actually do nothing about noise, as the pickups are already internally shielded and grounded. Other manufacturers of active pickups even advise not to ground the bridge...

    So, no, there is no absolute need to solder it.
     
  13. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Even with MEC active pickups, it is a noise difference between hands on and hands off the strings when the bridge is grounded. I could probably live without that as you said, in normal situation. When you use effects, or dynamic processors, or distortions, the noise is amplified, and you need your bass as quiet as possible. So if you ask me, for my needs it is an absolute need to solder it :)
    ...................................
    Later edit:

    Electronics is not really my strong field, but I have this esperience from studio. Also I remember when I was using Elixirs with streamer LX (active) that that was the only thing that bothered me - they were not really making contact being coated, and it was disturbing me...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2011
  14. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe is just me but i think it sounds better now (especially on loud volume). I think that wire was there for a reason, even if there is not a noticeable improvement at least the wire is solder at its designated place now.
     
  15. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Likes Received:
    1,894
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Haha, it is good not to have loose wires around :)
     
Loading...