Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Upgrading a passive Corvette to active

Discussion in 'Bass Guitars' started by Thedaivisch, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. Thedaivisch

    Thedaivisch

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do any of you guys now if it is possible/easy to upgrade a passive Warwick to active? I'm thinking of buying a second hand Corvette Standard 5 passive for cheap and then upgrading it to active later on. Any thoughts? I assume I could just go straight to MEC and order the preamp etc.

    Dave
     
  2. gonzosc1

    gonzosc1

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SC
    yes you can just order the pre amp. no need to change the pups as far as I know. someone else may know for sure.
     
  3. Goran

    Goran

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sisak, Croatia
    Corvettes can be passive/passive, passive/active and active/active. First stands for pick-ups and the second for electronics. So if you're going to buy passive/passive Corvette you can fit it with whatever electronics you want as long as it has configuration for the three holes/knobs. Presumably you don't wanna new holes in your bass.
     
  4. Myrk

    Myrk

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So basically, I can order a Corvette Passive/Passive and then have a luthier fit it with active EMG pickups and also an active preamp? (Without drilling anything)
     
  5. lilpbass

    lilpbass

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    rural America
    Welcome Myrk, and yes that is correct.
     
  6. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Yes, it is possible to do it :)
     
  7. golem

    golem Philosopher King

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Troy NY






    New holes is cool.

    It's leftover empty holes thaz uncool.

    Can we all say "Kill Switch" ?

    Altogether now:

    "Kee-uhl Suh-widge"

    Now wasn't that easy ? And look !
    No more unsightly leftover hole !
    Waaaaaaayyyyy Coooool .......





     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2009
  8. otto-666

    otto-666

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    passive to active

    i have just bought a corvette standard 5 passive and would like to upgrade to active as it would make the sound perfect. i dont know alot about bass electronics upgrading etc. any help. 9 volt circuitry would be enough. also does anyone know of mec pick ups would fit a ibanez btb 405
     
  9. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Do you have passive pickups and passive controls? If yes, you need to replace both.
     
  10. trujo777

    trujo777

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,379
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    TWO of my friends had passive Corvettes and bought the EMG pick ups that come with the electronics and battery clip from Guitar centrer for $179, installed them and loved their tone difference!!

    here:
    EMG J-X Active Bass Pickup Set and more Bass Pickups & Parts at GuitarCenter.com.

    or:
    http://www.guitarcenter.com/EMG-EMG-J-Active-Bass-Pickup-Set-100093042-i1323645.gc

    they said this was like night/day in the sound!!
     
  11. otto-666

    otto-666

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    passive corvette to active

    yes its the passive/passive. basically i want wat i got active. i wasn sure if it was active or passive on the site i bought it off. jus a damn good price. any pointers to change to active and where to get the pre amps and controls from???
     
  12. Eberbachl

    Eberbachl

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Surely you can run passive pups with an active preamp Flo?

    ;)
     
  13. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Of course you can. Corvette $$ is the first example crossing my mind.
     
  14. Eberbachl

    Eberbachl

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Thanks - I can think of a number of examples also.

    That's why I was wondering why you said he should replace both. Did I miss something?

    ;)
     
  15. golem

    golem Philosopher King

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,530
    Likes Received:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Troy NY


    Which just shows to go ya ... active PUs do
    not necessarily need an active EQ system.
    I followed your links ... and those are active
    PUs but not total active systems, PUs only.

    No doubt the basses would now sound very
    different, but they have not actually become
    active basses ... still no boost in the EQ.




     
  16. otto-666

    otto-666

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    corvette passive to active

    so basically i can just add a pre amp to my passive an that should do it?
     
  17. Pedro

    Pedro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,391
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    That's what I'm gonna do....well the hotel maintenance man is gonna do for me :d....soon as I get paid my friggin over time money!!

    (Make sure you buy an active preamp for passive pickups, though)
     
  18. AKFuzzyDice

    AKFuzzyDice

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    61 N, 149.5 W
    Warwick makes an active 3 knob setup that would go in your Corvette. I gotta say though, I really like my passive corvette. It blew away the soundguys the first time I plugged in, and I can't imagine changing a thing.
     
  19. otto-666

    otto-666

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i love the sound of my bass i just want more control over that treble and so i don av to keep changin my pedal and amp settings for each style of play. any ideas where i can get this active pre amp for passive pups
     
  20. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    I understand now. Well, he said he wants to upgrade to active. This means to me only to install active pickups. The active electronics will not make your bass active, but it will give more control to the EQ.
    You can do it.
    Look on the Sound of Wood you'll find them, look for the one with 3 pots.

     
Loading...