Issues with Ebay?

thndrstk6

Mockup Artist
Reaction score
So I'm planning on selling a bunch of my instruments and amps and such to save money for a really expensive bass. I'm new to selling stuff on e-bay but I've bought a few things on there. I have a few questions regarding the way things go down when your selling stuff.

1.) Is having a paypal account worth having?

2.) How does the paypal system work when I've sold something to someone?

3.) Is selling something with paypal more safe than any other method?

I've heard a lot of horror stories around here and was wondering if paypal is the best way to go.

Every time I bought something on e-bay I just sent the seller a cashiers check and they sent me the item. No problems at all.

Reaction score
1.) Is having a paypal account worth having?
-yes, it is very convenient especially if you are someone like me who dont ever have a chance of getting good gear within my continent because they arent available in stores, or they are way overpriced.

2.) How does the paypal system work when I've sold something to someone?
-you post it on ebay... seller pays... you give ebay a % ... you give paypal a %... if you decide to 'withdraw' the money, you will end up with a debit in your credit card and paypal gets $5 off you. suffice to say, you will never see the money in bills form *lol* if you do, then your bank is way cooler to the ones we have here in the Philippines.

3.) Is selling something with paypal more safe than any other method?
-safetywise, its basically the same. you have better records with paypal though. someone ripped me off $75 before... and i won the dispute claim... i still dont have the money and its been 6 months. apparently, paypal can only give you back the money if the one you are making a claim against has the money in his account.

with the thing i have now with Jake Day... well, Paypal must have his card details... if they dont, then we can all generalize paypal is really crap.