Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Discussion: Speaker cabinets, driver sizes, tone, weight considerations

Discussion in 'Bass Amps & Cabinets' started by DiMarco, Dec 1, 2015.

1. DiMarco

DiMarco nutcase Good Vibe Sponsor

Hey everyone,

I have been playing bass for about 25 years but am still constantly searching for the holy grail of bass cabinets.

So far I have tried 1x18", 2x15", 1x15", 4x10", 2x12", 2x10" and combinations of those. 1x15" + 4x10" is what I have used for a long long time, 2x15" for a year or two.

Currently I play through an Eden 2x12" and just discarded the 2x10" because it is flapping out constantly when I hit the low B.

Of course I want a tight response from my speakers but I also want a bit of colouration/emphasis on the lower mids to get that big ballsy sound. This made me currently end up at 2x12" + HF.

But... the 2x12 is pretty much a large cube and has to be lifted into the car rather then tilted like I used to with the 2x15. When storing my stuff at home it is placed at the attic. So I am looking for better portability without losing tone. Carrying near 40kg up and down the stairs isn't a big problem but I know nowadays 2x12 cabs weigh only half of this.

Should I get a lightweight 2x12 like a Barefaced or Vanderkley cab? Should I consider other speaker sizes? My experience with 10" is they lack proper mids which makes me have to crank up the volume too much to be able to hear myself. What about those Phil Jones cabs with arrays of 5" speakers? And how about stacking two of those new Warwick 4x8 cabs? Would I be happy with that?

So what I want to know is this: Which cabs do you lug around and why? What are the downsides to your stack? What would you look for as an upgrade to your current stack? Please be elaborate.

2. Hardy

Hardy Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor