Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Cabinet not supporting active mode and more...

Discussion in 'Bass Guitars' started by EPurpl3, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, i have just brought my first bass (RB Fortress P/J active) a week ago and i have many questions.

    I use to go to a studio to sing with my band and they have a Ibaneze bass cabinet and i have pluged the bass and nothing happened, i couldnt sing on actie mode, then i have switched the bass on passive mode and then i was able to sing. There are cabinets that are unable so use active basses? Is there any way i could use the active mode on a cabinet that doesnt support active pickups?

    Another question, why does the bass have 2 pickups? 1 is not enaugh? I ask theis question because i have started to like the precission pickup more than the jazz pickup (sound more metallic), is it ok if i only use the precision pickup?

    Thanks
     
  2. DiMarco

    DiMarco nutcase Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,654
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I are cheese for many sausage in dolphin cabinet battery soapbars.
     
  3. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are u ok?...
     
  4. The ShadowKnight

    The ShadowKnight

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilderness outside London, UK
    Well, The passive mode only disables the Preamp EQ, not the built in preamp of the pickups, thus your bass is still an active bass output wise.

    If the sound issue appears on other amps as well, your preamp may have an issue a require replacing under warranty.

    Regarding Pickups, well, there is always the choice to pan between pickups, go with whatever you feel best :)

    And regarding 1 pickups not being enough, I am quite happy with a bass with 2 Humbuckers that I can split to 3 different possibilties each and pan between the PUs...enough is only a viewpoint and thus what is too much for some, is just right for others ;)
     
  5. DiMarco

    DiMarco nutcase Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,654
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    If you plug a headphone directly into you active bass, you should be able to hear it softly. If you hear nothing then something is wrong with your instrument OR your battery is empty.

    So, you bought a bass with two pickups without knowing what they are there for? Having two pickups makes your bass more versatile as in you can create more different sounds with it. Do experiment with the balance control you may find your tone will sound better in the mix.
     
  6. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Hi Buddy,

    - probably you need to change the battery, I doubt it is a problem with the amp. So first you change the battery. If it is not working, then try to test the bass on a different amp, maybe the active mode on your bass is not working, and you need it fixed.

    - 2 pickups - many guys are asking this, haha. And you have a good intuition, the P pickup was originally made to be played alone, I prefer it that way too. Some people prefer other sounds so they blend the J pickup "in the mix"

    Well, let me know if the battery trick solves your problem. If you need more assistance, you can email me at [email protected]

    Cheers,
    Flo
     
  7. Shoewreck

    Shoewreck

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    you should hear a loud click and then encounter a damaged headphone coil.
     
  8. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, thanks to all for the answers.

    Than this is really strange, at home i use a Warwick Blue Cab 60.1 and workd great on both active and passive modes on both lines in, it has 2 lines in, one active and one passive (i see no difference betwen them but they are there for a reason, i think) and thats why i thought that are amps that cant use active guitars. At home i always use activemode. I have only tested the bass on 3 cabinets, my W. Blue Cab 60, a Ibanez bass cabinet and a Ibanez guitar cabinet. They are both old amps, i think, on both Ibanez cabs i was unable to use active and it sounded louder on the guitar cabinet than on the bass cab. I will also test the active mode on a Marshall cab this weekend. Recording directly on my computer also works on active. I have changed the battery as soon as i brought the bass (i wanted to be sure the battery is fully loaded).

    Thanks



    :)) i bet on that
     
  9. DiMarco

    DiMarco nutcase Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6,654
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Nonsense. A headphone will not damage.
     
  10. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Then if the bass works with other amps, it means the ibanez cabinet... I mean amp :) it is defective. Try lowering the gain, maybe it is some protection kicking in.
     
  11. The ShadowKnight

    The ShadowKnight

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilderness outside London, UK
    Also, some guitar gear has issues with the signal strength of bass, let alone active bass :) Let us know which amp/cab combi it is, some people may have already tried them with a similar setup.
    And I agree, sounds more like an amp issue
     
  12. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    the Ibanez guitar cab was louder than the bass cab on passive. I dont know the name of the cabinets but next weekend i will go to that studio again and i will find out exactly the model of the cab's.

    About the headphones, i have a friend and he buyed some special headphones for the guitar with incorporated amp. He payed double for those headphones, thats why i dont think the normal headphones would work. Any way, i cant test that.

    Thanks
     
  13. schlobodan

    schlobodan Warwick Streamer Specialist Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,701
    Likes Received:
    496
    Trophy Points:
    83
    hey are you kidding us? ;-)
     
  14. The ShadowKnight

    The ShadowKnight

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wilderness outside London, UK
    I think he means one of the headphone amps by dean,vox amplug designs or similar . Though never heard of them being hardwired to the headphones.
     
  15. Shoewreck

    Shoewreck

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    What kind of cable did you use? If it has stereo plugs, that's the problem - you need a mono cable to switch your active electronics on.
     
  16. EPurpl3

    EPurpl3

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, you were right, the cables from the studio where stereo, i brought my own cable and worked like a charm, thanks.

    Attached a photo, my cable is the one on the right.



    DSC01899.jpg
     
  17. jester

    jester ocdemon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4,674
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Athens, GR
    Real Name:
    Yanni
    Nice work Sherlock, errr, I mean Shoewreck! :-D
     
  18. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,855
    Likes Received:
    1,926
    Trophy Points:
    114
Loading...