Are These Frets Very Worn?

Reaction score
Hello all Warwickites!

I'm new to the world of Warwick. I have a Wal MK2 + MM Stingray. I love good basses.

I just got my hands on a Warwick Thumb, all the way from 1987.

I'm having a test run on it, and will decide whether I will keep it. I quite like it. However, I find that the frets seem very worn. It's still very playable, but I'm wondering if it's reasonable to have these kind of frets. At least what I know, is that they're very far from anything like this:

They're almost level with the fretboard.
I took pictures, have a look here!
https://photos.app.goo.gl/UnVMCqWXogBxuhsQ7

What do you think? Will this bass have to be re-fretted very soon? Should I avoid getting it?

Thanks a lot!

Hardy

Good Vibe Sponsor
Reaction score
Hi mate!

These frets were flat from the very beginning. Frets can have different crown heights. If the bass is still playable then there should be no reason for a refretting. But ofc this can change when you wear them more down at the first frets. Installing new frets will be no problem with this bass.

Reaction score
Hi mate!

These frets were flat from the very beginning. Frets can have different crown heights. If the bass is still playable then there should be no reason for a refretting. But ofc this can change when you wear them more down at the first frets. Installing new frets will be no problem with this bass.

Right, thanks a lot!
Another consideration; why would I buy this bass vs. a brand new Warwick (GPS Thumb BO 4 NT)?

Let's say I can get this for 1400€.
Specs are as follows:
Thumb Bass NT 4 string
Serial Number K 1041 87
October 1987
Number 1041
Neck Wood Wenge, Mother of Pearl Dot inlays
Fingerboard Wenge
Frets Jumbo Warwick Frets
Nut Just a Nut Brass
Neckthrough hidden neck construction
Body 3 pcs, Solid Bubinga Wood Surface White Highpolish Polyester Surface
Pickups Active EMG JJ Pickups
Electronic active MEC 2 Band Electronic Hardware
Black Hardware made for Warwick