Dismiss Notice
Join The Good Vibe Zone today, and hangout with the nicest bass community in the world :)

Anyone Has Experience With The Warwick Piezo Bridge?

Discussion in 'Bass Pickups & Electronics' started by Toepfer, Feb 19, 2019.

  1. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Hi,

    i just got a Warwick Piezo Bridge for my Fortress fretless. The bridge was originally in a Thumb BO 5 string.
    I received the bridge including three double stacked pots and the circuit board.

    Unfortunately the previous owner disconnected most of the cables.

    Is there anyone out there who has a wiring diagram for this - I can't find anything on the Warwick webpage or on the Fishman webpage.

    Any Information would be helpfull.
     
  2. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,673
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    114
    @schlobodan , can you help him? :) I do have the piezo system, but with some custom electronics (VVTT), so it is not the same.
     
  3. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Thanks Florin, I already talked to Sascha, he said he might have a picture.
    Do you think the Warwick Support might have one?
     
  4. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,673
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Sure, they are able to help, I am pretty sure if you write to [email protected] you will find all the support needed.
     
  5. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,673
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    114
    But, my 2 cents- being a lot of wires there, I would leave the whole soldering stuff to a specialist, I always have a friend I call when I am in gear distress :) And a good specialist will know how to solder everything, it is pretty clear to them what's there, as far as you are able to tell them which is which.
    If you have 3 stacked pots, those should be:
    1- Vol/blend- you can identify that by having no center detent for volume, and being push-pull.
    2- Bass/treble
    3- Volume and tone for piezo.
    So if you go with your electronics and tell the tech what are those, he or she will be able to put everything together, it is nor rocket science :)
     
  6. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,673
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    114
    Can you take a picture with what you have? You should have another circuit board- the 2Way preamp. Do you have it?
     
  7. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Pictures will follow, as soon as I'm home tonight.

    What the pots are clear. These have (more or less) the 'normal' pot wiring.

    The wires between the pots are still there - there is no other circuit board - apart from a very small white one attached to the bass/treble pot - here is one loose purple wire
    The problem ist the big circuit board (it is labled Fishman Piezo V 2.0 and has connections for up to 6 piezos - marked 1-6). luckily the previous owner cut the cables to the bridge and left a little bit on the board, so you can see which colour goes where. But there is one white cable (board says 'out'), and two black ones (one says 'R' the other one looks like a ground), but there is a second ground already connected to the pots.
    I agree that a specialist might help, but I always did my wiring myself (I had a job once where we had to solder 25 pin printer cables - so soldering is not the problem) - if I have a diagram. And the local luthier told me - he could do it, if I can wait three to four weeks.

    The question is, do I go directly to the output socket with the 'out' or do I have to go back to one of the pots (with the Warwick diagrams, the purple is usualy connected to the socket) and what about the 'R' connector.
     
  8. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Wow - I already got an answer from the Warwick Service.
    I sent them the same pictures, let's see what will happen.

    Piezo-Bridge.jpg
    Piezo-Platine.jpg Piezo-Potis.jpg
     
    Stainless, Hardy and imabuddha like this.
  9. schlobodan

    schlobodan Warwick Streamer Specialist Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    4,648
    Likes Received:
    417
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cannot find proper pics - even though Flo has special wiring pics to where the output goes should help - he has the same pre
     
    Florin likes this.
  10. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Warwick did not respond yet
     
  11. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    Should anyone need this

    Bild (22).jpg
    Bild (24).jpg
     
    schlobodan, Florin and jester like this.
  12. Florin

    Florin Warwick Forum Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    17,673
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Trophy Points:
    114
    I kinda asked in CS that the magnetic pickups not to go through the piezo Pcboard, that's why I am afraid the wiring is a bit different.
     
  13. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    But if you do that, how do you connect the piezo balance and the socket?
     
  14. Toepfer

    Toepfer Supporting Member Good Vibe Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    261
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Munich
    Real Name:
    Pepe
    A phone call with Marcus Spangler solved all my problems. Everything works perfect now!
    Perfect Support!
     
    Stainless, dan_horro and jester like this.
Loading...