5 Strings Setup For Slap Happy Guy :)

Florin

OG
Reaction score
Soo, I play 5 stringers only, but I am nostalgic for 4 strings basses.
I like big spacing, but broadneck warwicks are too much to handle for me.
I also noticed I don't use BEA strings equally as DG. I use BEA for grooving, and DG for... you know... additional stuff :)
So I moved the E and A strings as xlose as possible to B string.
Now I feel BEA strings close as I like them for grooving. I play my bass fairly low, so playing octaves from low D is not that easy. Now it is :)
I also have good spacing between ADG strings, actually I have 4 strings spacing - 19mm, so I feel like playing a chunkier 4 strings when slapping.
I am happy witg this setup, so I wanted to share :)
IMG_2489.JPG

Henrythe8

Dolphin Hoarder
Reaction score
Well, that's... different :) I guess that as long as you are comfy, it's a good setup. I'm pretty sure my fingers would be lost with this, but I'm a newbie in 5 strings, only play it since a year or so, and I still anchor my thumb on whatever strings is 'above' the string I play.
So, you're playing more "horizontally", than vertically ?

Florin

OG
Reaction score
I dunno, depends on the position I guess. But I don't really consider the B string as an equal string to tge others, I see my bass as a 4 stringer, witg the option to play a low D or C from time to time.

Henrythe8

Dolphin Hoarder
Reaction score
Well I went for a 5er because we downtuned three songs with my band, and I've sticked with it ever since.
Anyway, so it doesn't feel weird to jump two more millimeters when you go on the treble side ?
Although, it can help to "feel" the strings and know where your fingers are. On my Squier V, the A string was buzzing so I added a small paper under the nut, and the string was raised a bit, and it helped me figure out where I was by feeling this "higher" point. Might be the same here, you feel a gap and you know where you are.
Good Idea, master Florin.

Hoggles

Good Vibe Sponsor