New amp decisions - do i really need a hellborg?

Reaction score
Yep thats right. I'm selling off loads of unused gear in an attempt to downsize to only what i need. I've sold off my eden and my PJB combo is on the way out as well. Meaning i need a new amp.

Now much to my surprise i can actually get a hellborg pre-amp + a cheap power amp whilst i save for the hellborg mono 250. Hurrah you say. But then it hit me. Do i really need it. I mean really?

My thoughts on it are as such:

(****WARNING RAMBLING THOUGHTS READ AT OWN RISK!****)

1) I'm not a pro or a studio musician, the band i'm in atm is not a hugely active on the gig front, currently. And most of the time the amp would be used as a practice amp - albeit the best practice amp in the world but still...

2) Although I'm studying music tech and as such do do lots of recordings where a good preamp comes in handy. I have access to a good studio at uni with 'pro' gear. For home recordings i do need good DI but for this do i really need a £1000 pre-amp? - i could grab a PJB bass buddy for £220 and it'll do the job perfectly well.

3) This is the kicker really everything the hellborg preamp has is almost perfect; The frequencies are the ones i like, its got a blend on the FX send/return, amazing DI, looks awesome. Only thing lacking is a headphone out, now normally it'd be like who cares but as in point 1, practice amp...so headphones is pretty important as sometimes my uni housemates like me to keep the volume down that said i can run it through my PC to get headphones but its a little irritating.

4) Now all this is in the back of my mind and i think for that price shouldn't i get something that has everything right on it? thats perfect? - if it exists! or should i not get too hung up on the headphone out?

5) There's also the advice with music gear get the best you can afford, as it means less upgrading in the long run and works out cheaper. Completely true in this case!